Best Paper Candidates Announced

The best paper candidates for MMM 2017 have been selected by the Best Paper Committee. This committee is nominated by the MMM Steering Committee, and has the following members:

  • Phoebe Chen (La Trobe University, Australia)
  • Klaus Schoeffmann (Klagenfurt University, Austria)
  • Meng Wang (Hefei University of Technology, China)

The four best paper candidates are the following, in order of submission date:

30 On the Exploration of Convolutional Fusion Networks for Visual Recognition. Liu, Yu; Guo, Yanming; S. Lew, Michael. Leiden University, Netherlands, The.

45 Cross-modal Recipe Retrieval: How to Cook This Dish?. Chen, Jingjing; Pang, Lei; Ngo, Chong-wah. City university of HongKong, Hong Kong S.A.R. (China).

71 Spatio-temporal VLAD Encoding for Human Action Recognition in Videos. Duta, Ionut Cosmin (1); Ionescu, Bogdan (2); Aizawa, Kiyoharu (3); Sebe, Nicu (1). 1: University of Trento, Italy; 2: University Politehnica of Bucharest, Romania; 3: University of Tokyo, Japan.

194 A Framework of Privacy-Preserving Image Recognition for Image-Based Information Services. Fujii, Kojiro; Nakamura, Kazuaki; Nitta, Naoko; Babaguchi, Noboru. Osaka University.

These papers will be presented in a special plenary Best Paper Session on Wednesday January 4, 2017. The final winner will then be announced during the conference banquet.

We congratulate the authors of these papers on their achievement and look forward to seeing their presentations!

Björn Þór Jónsson
Cathal Gurrin
MMM 2017 General Chairs